EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

Christian catch-phrases to ditch in 2014

In Uncategorized on January 6, 2014 at 7:25 am

I attended church more or less regularly for the first 28 years of my life. Allow me to sum up: I quit church rather unceremoniously around my 30th birthday yada yada yada…..haven’t gone back. I am, in terms of belief and spiritual bent, a Christian. But, being outside of group of people gathering for religious purposes every week has left a line of demarcation in my life. One of the largest that I notice is the way I express things.

Christians in religious gatherings spend a fair chunk of time talking about people who aren’t Christian and how to talk to people who aren’t Christian about Christianity, God, and Christ. I’ve talked to people who aren’t Christian about Christianity–both during my religious gathering (“RG”) days and my post-religious gathering days. There are some things that I said during RG days that literally make me cringe and shake my head. For instance……

1. “Every person has a God-shaped/sized hole in his/her heart.” Wow. That one is, frankly, from the dictionary of douchecraft. It barely makes sense and is, more or less, a complete mischaracterization of what Christianity is all about. When a person arrives at the point of belief in Christ, do “we” really want him/her to believe that God sweeps in to plug up all the holes in his/her life? I get the point, I really do. But, this catch phrase is PLAYED.

2. “God helps those who help themselves.” Just. Stop. Please. This statement completely relegates persons living in poverty, persons living with disabilities, persons escaping from war/genocide/natural disasters. Let it go.

3. “Love the sinner, hate the sin.” I get this one. Truly do. The problem is that this quote is usually used in situations in which both the “sinner” and the “sin” are being hated.

4. “…..that’s why I don’t say Happy Holidays.” I feel you! Christmas is a commemoration of the birth of Christ. But, then there’s also New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day and Chanukah. Moreover, launching into a long, unsolicited diatribe in the checkout line after the cashier wishes you Happy Holidays doesn’t exactly spread the love of Christ.

Leave a Reply

