EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

#UMWFG: What’s your excuse…?

In Happiness, Somewhat disjointed rant..., Uncategorized on October 23, 2013 at 3:43 am

There have been lots of media outlets flooded with this message: WHAT’S YOUR EXCUSE? The fitspo category is flooded with this message. But, it’s not just fitspo. Politics, religion, education, and fashion have increasingly started shouting this question.

Ironically, I’m a ruminator so I often ask myself this question. It has become, frankly, overwhelming. And, I’ve been in a bit of a funk about the whole thing lately. Since I’ve decided to USE MY WORDS FOR GOOD this month, I figured there had to be a way to get out of this funk with words.

I decided to reframe the question. I’m asking myself the same question, but within a completely different context.

Most of the people and entities who ask this question are exemplifying some passionate pursuit: youth, faith, clothing, cooking, jewelry, career, ethics, fitness. Each pursues that which makes him/her/it happy

There it is. The question re-framed.

WHAT’S YOUR EXCUSE FOR NOT DOING WHAT MAKES YOU HAPPY?

I watch a lot of public television; Martha Stewart has a cooking show that comes on Saturday mornings. The look of pure bliss that Martha sports while whipping up a coffee cake exemplifies  the feeling that I have when I hit publish on a blog post is the emotion John Legend wears when he is at the piano is the air Stella McCartney floats on when her latest collection is on the runway.

But, back to Martha. Ms. Stewart has no excuse to AVOID making that (admittedly scrumptious looking) coffee cake because making the cake makes her happy. She enjoys making the cake. She likes hosting people who will inevitably eat the cake. She enjoys sharing her recipes with me on Saturday mornings. Does John Legend have an excuse for failing to make a coffee cake on my television on Saturday morning? Yes. He does: playing the piano and singing makes him happier than baking cakes.  There is no reason for him to beat up on himself because he doesn’t bake coffee cakes on my TV screen. But, nothing prevents him from enjoying a slice of that coffee cake if Martha invites him over for Saturday brunch.

So, that’s how I’m going to process WHAT’S YOUR EXCUSE. I will appreciate that other person’s show of passion, and I will remind myself to continue to pursue my own passions at my own pace at my own time. I provide no excuses for being who I am at this moment.

I’ll be John Legend. You be Martha Stewart. I’ll play piano for you, and then we’ll eat cake. We’ll both be happy.

Leave a Reply

