EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

Smiley faces

In Happiness, R[evol]ution on October 11, 2013 at 4:53 am

This post is sort of about Gretchen Rubin’s Happiness Project–a book and a website all about her one year journey to finding a way to a happier life. It may sound like a tome of first world problem angst, but the book is really about the habits, words, and thoughts that make one’s self and those around one happier. All in all, I found the book to be a great and worthwhile read.

Gretchen (because obvi, we’re like bff) offers lots of practical tips and illustrations from her own life and the lives of others. Her own happiness project was broken down into monthly chunks, with each month allowing her to focus on a different aspect of happiness.

I would like to do my own happiness project, but it occurs to me that I lead a pretty happy life. I could simply follow Gretchen’s plan, but that wouldn’t mean as much to me. So, I am going to start by identifying areas in my life that could include more happiness.

1. My relationships with my family members.

2. Honesty about my spiritual life.

3. Body love. I need to accept and nurture the skin I’m in.

4. Be easier to work with and be more accepting of those I work with.

5. Make quality purchases at quality places.

6. Eat good food.

7. Build closer friendships.

8. Try more new things.

9. Be more forgiving and let go of old grudges.

10. Get rid of clutter.

11. Stabilize and learn more about my mental health.

12. Feel and express gratitude.

13. Celebrate more.

14. Express my emotions at the right time and in the right way.

15. Volunteer more.

16. Communicate immediately, openly, honestly.

===========10/11/13 Update

17. Use my words for good.

18. Brush up on my French.

19. Grow things

20. Develop my art skills

21. Talk on the telephone more

22. Relax more.

23. Exercise more.

24. Be more collegial

  1. […]  I have 24 things that I want to work on. I am going to make an initial one-year commitment to my Happiness Project. […]

Leave a Reply

