EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

Novel: Pop Up characters?

In Bar Prep Problems, Novel on July 5, 2013 at 3:08 am

Here is a link to the novel that I am writing one page at a time.

I often write when I can’t sleep (and don’t feel like doing bar prep practice problems), so I have a notebook (with the perfect paper) that I use for draft writing. I don’t have much a plan for this story.  I just write in such a way that I can reflect on whatever negative emotions I am experiencing. This is quite cathartic.

But, as I was writing last night: a character “created” himself. I had no plans for him (Lawrence). He just kind of forced his way into the story. But, he is weird and a little creepy and I don’t really like him at the moment. Moreover, I am not sure why he is weird and creepy. I’m not sure if Lawrence will be in the whole story.

The funny thing is: I don’t care right now. It felt good to move another person into the story other than my protagonist. I have decided that I will deal with him when he needs to be dealt with.

Is this a unique occurrence? Do any other writers experience “pop-up” characters?

Leave a Reply

