EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

Why don’t I give up?

In Encouragement, Friendship, R[evol]ution on June 21, 2013 at 5:07 am

Especially when it comes to reaching out to others, I often feel discouraged. When it comes to forming and maintaining relationships, I sometimes feel that I am in a black hole. So, why not give up? Why not retire to my own Walden? Why not just shut down?

Some days, I think it would be better to do so.

Then.

Then, I think about the fact that there is probably another person who feels the same way that I do at this very moment. I think about all the people who are in the world and lonely and in need of someone to reach out to them. I think about the days when I was really down and someone–a friend, an acquaintance, a relative, a stranger–did something kind for me and connected with me. I think about that most of all.

Then.

Then, I decide to pay it forward.

Leave a Reply

