EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

Body Love Angry Woman Rant

In Encouragement, R[evol]ution, Somewhat disjointed rant... on June 7, 2013 at 12:03 am

At the risk of revealing my true and absolute identity, thereby making me totally unhire-able in the big law world: I have an AWESOME board on Pinterest. It’s called Body Love/Self-Love. I pin pictures of people–especially women–of all shapes, sizes, colors, creeds, ages, abilities, heights, nationalities, and weights to it. 

Many of the people in the pictures don’t look like me. But, I think each and every picture is remarkable. I can literally spend hours trolling Pinterest and the internet for pictures of people who don’t look like anyone else I’ve pinned before. Why? Because I believe that no one should ever feel alone in her body love struggles. Many women have body love struggles. Women who YOU don’t think should have body love struggles do, in fact. No deserves to feel that her situation is so unique, so bad, so different that no one can relate.

I believe that every person deserves to be seen. Of course, the internet showcases the worst of humanity, but I hate seeing comments upon photos in which the commentator says the person in the photograph should not be seen until some change occurs in his/her body. Usually said change involves “eating a sandwich” or “losing weight.” No person is perfect; no body is perfect. The point is: perfection is not a prerequisite for presence.

I believe that every person deserves to understand that the world is larger than one’s own neighborhood. I like looking at Tyne Daly’s salt and pepper hair; I like checking for Rosie Mercado’s latest fashion statement; I like the bow-shaped elegance of Emma Watson’s lips; I like the roaring glory of an aging Josephine Baker; I like Marilyn Monroe’s bathing suits. No one else has to like those things, but EVERYONE else should know of and appreciate the existence of those things.

I believe that a body does not necessarily equal sex; and, a picture of a body does not necessarily equal sex. Looking at a body–especially a female body, but the male body has also been dangerously over-sexualized–does not necessarily require you or me to be “turned on.” Thus, the comment “this isn’t sexy” is pretty much meaningless.

I believe that health has two facets: physical and mental/emotional. I believe that the two facets do NOT exist independent of one another. Although, I do believe that the emotional/mental component (as the part that we each live with all day: the voice in your head, the dream in your sleep, the conscience in your actions) takes the lead. I don’t believe that commenting that someone looks “unhealthy” or that someone’s body is necessarily “unhealthy” has any point. Perhaps it make the commentator feel better. If I’m overweight–does anyone honestly believe that my doctor and I don’t know that? If I’m underweight–does anyone honestly believe that my doctor and I don’t know that? Thus, “you’re so overweight that you’re at risk for diabetes” and “you’re so thin that you look anorexic” comments do nothing more than to perpetuate body hate.

Every person is more than a body. I am emotions, thoughts, and actions. Each picture represents someone who is more than a body. No one should have the power to take that one facet of a person’s existence (the body), reduce a person to that one facet, and then make that person disappear based on the body. Perhaps you think you have that power. Spoiler alert: you don’t. Perhaps you have given other people that power over you. Spoiler alert: Shut down the power company and leave the shareholders to their own devices. Take back your power.

Leave a Reply

