EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

Single ladies: What’s the real feel?

In Love and Romance, R[evol]ution, Somewhat disjointed rant... on May 29, 2013 at 4:33 am

Looking over my Facebook newsfeed and my Twitter timeline (or newsfeed, or whatever), I noticed lots of statements by, for, to, and about single women. Some stuff is good. But, some stuff stinks. I mean, some of this stuff literally reeks of pseudo-psychology or hypocrisy or dismissiveness (and, in the worst of cases, all three). The worst thing is that we share and retweet that crap!

Single ladies (and guys, too–sorry, guys…I am not intentionally leaving you out, it’s just that SOOO MUCH of this stuff is directed at women), I think we have a right to feel HOWEVER we feel about being single. I’m not married, but I am dating. But, before that, I wasn’t in a romantic relationship for years. And, it bothered me at times. I was lonely at times. I wanted someone to share things with at times. At other times, I enjoyed the singularity of not having to explain myself to another person. I didn’t wake up in the morning cursing myself for not being married, but you get the picture.

There is not some hocus-pocus that will snatch the person of your dreams up into the skies the minute you honestly think or say that you feel lonely or that you want to be in a relationship or that you never want to have children or that your job is more important to you than romance.

I find it comforting and strengthening and empowering to discuss my feelings about relationships with other women. I like hearing how other women feel about relationships, being single, dating, breaking up, going out, and so forth.

Honestly, I don’t really have MUCH of a point besides this: be real about your feelings.

  1. […] It’s kind of like the Konigsberg Bridge problem. Tons of people undertake to explain it, and most of them fail. Yesterday, I talked about the need for women (and men) to more honestly discuss our feelings surroun… […]

Leave a Reply

