EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

Chasing your dreams…

In Encouragement, Law School Problems, R[evol]ution, Somewhat disjointed rant... on May 13, 2013 at 4:10 am

Hold on to dreams

For if dreams die

Life is a broken winged bird that cannot fly.

Hold on to dreams

For if dreams go

Life is a barren field frozen with snow.

 

Those are the words, as I remember them, of Langston Hughes. I didn’t look them up.

One of the most difficult things to teach a child is the importance of dreams–those loftiest of life goals. But, I was blessed. At a young age (that is, first grade) I took a huge interest in politics during the Bush/Dukakis Presidential elections. This early interest in politics led me to an interest in law-making, and the legal system. By the time I was a junior in high school, I had decided that I wanted to be an attorney with the ACLU. In a simple matter of days, I  will be leaps closer to fulfilling the hopes of that first-grader (who, coincidentally, tried to rig the practice ballots that she handed out–I have far more integrity now than I did then). Perhaps I am not (yet) working for the ACLU, but I could!

How refreshing and how surreal it is to be able to say that I am achieving a dream. It is honestly unlike any feeling that I’ve known before. Happy? Yes. Satisfied? Yes. Hopeful? Of course! But, there is also a sense of anticipation and lightness and power that I have never before felt in combination. I know my limits, and I feel fulfilled within those limits. That’s the new part, I think: I literally have been to my limits.

Chasing a dream is one human experience upon which I think all should embark. Achieving a dream is something that I will forever encourage others to do. Perhaps in achieving a dream, you meet your destiny.

  1. […] But, I digress. The point is to use my words for good. At this moment, I want to celebrate by using my words for good. I found out Friday that I passed the Georgia Bar examination. I get to be an attorney I have wanted to be an attorney since at least the fourth grade and probably since the first grade. […]

Leave a Reply

