EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

The Way to a Lovely Tomorrow

In Encouragement, R[evol]ution on January 28, 2013 at 4:55 am

I’m a little overweight. I’m 5 feet, 9 inches and I weigh 170 pounds. My waist could stand to be a little thinner. I can be a bit judgmental, too. Not to mention perfectionistic. There are many times when I fail to stand up for myself. My 10-minute mile has turned into an 11 or 12 minute mile. I don’t drink enough water. I don’t go to church or do enough to maintain a strong relationship with God. I’ve had numerous friendships end sadly over the years. And, I have dark circles under my eyes.

I seriously suck–like Edith-Crawley-jilted-at-the-altar levels of suck, right?

Wait. What will telling myself that I suck right now do for my tomorrow? Nothing. Self-hate does not prepare me to meet the newness of tomorrow with anticipation and hope. Self-hate tells me that tomorrow will be just like today and that I will still suck with the possibility of sucking even more tomorrow.

If you are starting to get into a spiral of self-hate, please try this to prepare yourself for a lovely tomorrow: QUICKLY NAME ONE THING THAT YOU DID OR SAW TODAY THAT WAS GOOD. Did you do a really good job with your hair? Did you compliment a total stranger and bring a smile to his face? Did you scatter bread crumbs for the squirrels and birds? Did you recycle? Did you make a really delicious sandwich?

If that sounded way too corny, think about this: how would you feel if you witnessed an adult yelling at a child, using the words you are using toward yourself right now? Outrage? Embarassment? Anger? Sympathy? Sadness? Compassion? Realize: you are willing to feel more for a child you do not know than for yourself. You deserve compassion, too.

Prepare for a lovely tomorrow–and that begins by stopping the self-hate today.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” –Rev. Dr. Martin L. King, Jr.

“And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.” –Philippians 4:8

Leave a Reply

