EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

In an effort to love my body…

In Encouragement, R[evol]ution on November 26, 2012 at 4:06 am

There was a time in my life when I was in my mid-twenties and I was slim, slender, tall and willowy. At 5’9″ I weighed in the neighborhood of 150 pounds and I loved the way I looked. I am no longer in my mid-twenties; I no longer weigh 150; I’m still the same height. But, despite all of that, I need to love the way I look. I live with me everyday. And, quite frankly losing weight is going to do nothing for my insides.

I am going to make an effort to love my hair. Turning white, growing long, frizzing out, curling up. But also bouncy, healthy, and thick.

I am going to make an effort to love my face. Increasingly freckled, increasingly fine lined and wrinkled, increasingly under eye circled, increasingly double-chinned. But also shiny-eyed, full-lipped, and strong cheek-boned.

I am going to make an effort to love my tummy. Always soft, always lumpy, never flat, never rippled. But also healthy, smooth, and strong.

I am going to make an effort to love my legs. Skinny-ankled, big-footed, mosquito-bite scarred, cellulite-thighed. But also long, fast, and just…well, just amazing.

I am going to make an effort to love my skin color. High-yella’ed, winter paleness, easily bruised. But, also cinnamon honey caramel’ed and soft.

I am commanded to love my neighbor as I love myself. I need to start with loving myself.

Leave a Reply

