EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

Being Blessed

In Encouragement, Love and Romance, Somewhat disjointed rant..., Thoughts on Christianity on October 18, 2012 at 4:30 am

I am going to be intentional about being blessed. Wait. Wait. Let me finish. First, I am defining blessed as being touched and/or guided by God. I am going to be intentional about recognizing the ways I am blessed. It sounds corny, but just taking time to think about the ways that God is guiding me and affecting me in the very moment refocuses me; sharpens me; makes me more aware of the life around me.

It is crucial for me that I think the very moment that I am in. I cannot think about the ways in which I will be blessed–that encourages a lust for the future in me. I cannot think about the ways that I was blessed–that encourages me to be nostalgic for the past. I have to think about how I am blessed–how I am being blessed–at that moment. Sights, sounds, textures, and tastes are a part of that immediate experience. What once seemed to be bad but is now a positive is part of that. Self-awareness is a part of that. Awareness of others and their needs is a part of being blessed. The ability to express your blessedness is part of that. Most importantly, thankfulness is a part of that.

Yes, yes! I’m so blessed.

Leave a Reply

