EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

Open Letter Re: Law School

In First World Problems, Law School Problems, Somewhat disjointed rant... on September 27, 2012 at 7:08 pm

Dear Professor,

You know how you assigned 150 pages of reading? Yeah, that snatched my motivation to even BEGIN reading. Thus, I read 5 pages and gave up. You know that time you assigned 35 pages of reading? That was do-able. Thus, I read all 35 pages AND took notes.

 

Dear Person Who Has Lots of Questions:

I respect your love of learning. But, your questions are confusing. Please set up an appointment with Professor ____ during office hours.

 

Dear Person Who Whispers During the Whole Class:

I can hear you. A lot.

 

Dear Person Who Always Name Drops During Class:

I have no idea who you are talking about. Please stop.

 

Dear Person Who is Secretly Racist/Sexist/Homophobic/Religious Bigot/Ageist/Etc.:

We all know. Every time you open your mouth. We know you are not playing Devil’s Advocate.

 

Dear Person Who Like Me Zones Out Every Now and Then:

Hit me up on Google chat so that we can set up a schedule. I can pay attention while you are zoned out and vice versa. Then, we can trade notes after class.

 

Dear Person Who Works at a Law Firm:

Every hypo in class does not relate to your firm. I promise.

 

Dear Professor:

I will not object or feel shorted if you end class early. I will, however, be annoyed if you finish your material an hour early and then have a “discussion.”

 

Dear Professor:

Not all of us will work at big firms. I’m just saying.

 

Dear Person in Class Who is Sick:

Go home. Please. Attending today’s class WILL NOT make the difference between an A and a C.

 

Dear Person in Class Who Did Not Bathe:

Please re-evaluate your priorities. Thank you.

 

Dear Person Whose Phone Rang But You Are Trying to Ignore It:

We all know it’s your phone. Just ignore the call. It’s all good. It can happen to the best of us.

 

Dear Person in Class Who Is A Gunner:

I respect your hustle…kind of.

  1. Love all of these.

Leave a Reply

