EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

Mac vs. PC

In Somewhat disjointed rant... on September 26, 2012 at 11:06 pm

I’m a PC (that is IBM compatible, Windows OS) user. My boyfriend is a Mac user. I wanted to be a Mac user. Really, I did. But, when I needed a new computer, I didn’t have the 15 big it took to commandeer one from the Apple Store. Ergo, I took the $700 I had to Best Buy and procured for myself a Gateway.

The point of this is not to argue which of the two is better. If you google “Mac vs. PC” all kinds of stuff will come up. I read much of this information (while I was supposed to be paying attention in class…), and I have come to a conclusion. In the words of the illustrious Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson: IT DOESN’T MATTER. Make your choice…but, are you really making a choice? What matters is the fact that those two choices left me blind to all other choices. I didn’t think about Linux…or Chromebook…or…or…what are the other choices? That’s right, I don’t even KNOW the other choices. While I’ve been watching Mac and Windows duke it out, I’ve missed other developments in the market.

How many other times have I done that? I was thoroughly creeped out by my willing participation in my own ignorance. How about when I chose between Democrat and Republican? How about when I decided to choose between teaching and law school? How about when I choose to see people as beautiful or ugly? How about when I decide whether someone is acceptable or unacceptable? How about when I decide if something is good or bad? Yes. Yes, all of those.

How much have I missed? How many developments have I missed? What other options are out there? Life seems so much easier when I only have to choose between two options that are diametrically opposed: black, white; left, right. In the end, I lose no matter what because I am whittling down my ability to process and understand the betweeness that exists in life.

Leave a Reply

