EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

I want to be real…

In Encouragement, Thoughts on Christianity, Uncategorized on September 12, 2012 at 3:26 am

Earlier today, I posted something called “Become who you were born to be” and I ended with these allegedly important words: “But, at the end of your life, when people speak your name it will have meaning.” It is important that at the end of your life that you leave a legacy. Perhaps there might be a motivation that’s a little less…..macabre.

I love this song by Chris August. 

The chorus is what makes something inside me resonate: I just wanna be real. And, I do. I just want to be able to understand myself. I want to be able to voice my opinions and thoughts. I want to be able to help others. I want to be able to make people laugh. I want to write. I want to do every single thing that it is within my power to do.

That’s the catch, though. I will not know my own power, until I know my own strengths and weaknesses. I won’t know my own strengths and weaknesses until I get real–until I face the reality of who I am. For a long time, I was afraid of my own reality because it meant conflict and that some people won’t like me and that some days I might be tired of me. Those moments when I am pushing the limits of my own power, however, places all that not so great stuff into context.

Leave a Reply

