EXTRA! SO VERY EXTRA!

Love is about a choice

In Encouragement, Love and Romance on September 10, 2012 at 4:36 pm

I’m not married.

But, I am in a serious long-term relationship. And that, ladies and gents, is something that I never thought I would be able to say. Seriously, at the age of 29, I thought that I would never be able to say again that I was in a romantic love relationship. But, I made a choice.

I chose to stop listening to the radio shows, movies, talk shows, and authors who do indeed sell one a bill of goods regarding love and romance. I chose to stop listening to the people around me, male and female, who were bitter and jaded about love. I chose to stop listening to my ego tell me that I deserved Prince Charming on a white horse with a Tiffany blue box in his hand, an engagement ring tucked inside. I chose to realize that I’m not perfect (gasp), so why should the person I’m in a relationship with be?

I chose to be realistic with myself about who I am, because who I am informs me about the type of person I should be with. I’m extremely emotionally sensitive; so, that marks hard-talking strong and silent types off the list. I’m not really outdoorsy; no need to go searching the Appalachian Trail for a man. I’m a daddy’s girl; father-figures need not apply. You get the picture.

I don’t think it’s a big deal that men and women turn to the media for advice about love and relationships. What makes me sad is that the media tells us to change who we are to “find” love and romance. Nothing could be sillier. God made each of us the way we are for a specific reason, not the least of which is that He wanted us to be this way! Now, if he made you quiet for a reason, don’t go listening to Dr. Television tell you that you won’t find love until you start talking more. Choose to be YOU.

What kinds of silly romance advice have you heard?

Leave a Reply

